top of page

The Rainbow Bridge

Updated: Nov 27, 2019

Hi all,


Yesterday was a tough day for the Garcias. Especially for the kids. A few months ago we had a wonderful little kitten adopt us as parents. We named her Cassie Cat because she looked like a stuffed animal we gave Adelyn when she was younger and called the stuffed animal Cassie Cat.


Some of you might know that Rebecca and I were parents to a wonderful blue Doberman named Garrett. He was with us way before we had Adelyn and Brielle. Adelyn got to meet him before his passing but she was still very little. He was a good dog, He was an even better family member. Rebecca and I miss him dearly. I always used to tell him that I wanted to give him land to roam before his time was up. Well I made that wish come true for him and he got to experience land when we moved to Splendora. Sadly, it was a few months in to our new home when his time came. I try to imagine him running in our back yard and watching over us when we play outside. That was tough saying goodbye. I told Rebecca I really did not want another animal for a while. We just have too much going on with the kids and such. Well life had other options for us.


Cassie Cat shows up. She had a great bond with the kids. Unfortunately, yesterday, Halloween of all days, an unfortunate accident happened with Cassie and she passed. More devastating was Rebecca had to deal with it alone. Our nice neighbor was kind enough to bury Cassie in our back yard for us because I couldn't get home in time. I have no words to describe the gratefulness I have for my neighbor. Telling the kids was tough, man was that tough. It is still tough today. I wasn't ready for that. I don't talk much with the Big Guy in the Sky but yesterday on the way home I asked for guidance and the strength to be a strong Dad for the kids. I asked to help me find the right words and just overall make the situation easy for the kids to understand. I also asked to send any available Angels to comfort Adelyn because she was the closest with Cassie Cat. I told Adelyn that God would look for Cassie at the Rainbow Bridge. I told her that Garrett would be there too to help Cassie in her new home.That was tough, the tears were tough, it was all tough.


Though yesterday was tough, last night we are pulling into our driveway from our Halloween adventurers and the atmosphere in the car was grey. As we are pulling in Rebecca comments, what is that in our driveway? We look and it is a small scruffy puppy shivering and cold. I tried not losing it. I jumped out and this small puppy comes to me happily. I have no explanation other than coincidence. Maybe a Big Guy in the Sky coincidence? Who knows?


Truth be told, I took the puppy to get scanned this morning for a microchip. No chip, so currently we have a new family member unless claimed. He's welcome and can stay forever if he wishes.


To our Rainbow Bridge family members, we miss you. Please welcome Cassie Cat and make her feel at home. Cassie, and Garrett, and any friends are welcome to roam our back yard anytime they wish.


- Tom



37 views
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page