top of page

A Decade of Thoughts from Dad Garcia

Updated: Dec 18, 2019

Hi all,


I thought I might add a few personal moments from my 2019 memory and prior. We are winding down the rest of the year with great speed. Can you believe we will cross a threshold in a few weeks! A full decade will surpass us after midnight on December 31st!!! A full decade, wow!


When I was a younger Dad Garcia I really didn't pay attention to time. I just went along with the flow and meandered through the norms. I look back at the past 10 years, and I'm just taken back. There are feelings of happiness, joy, and of course a few sad moments as well. Such is life. What takes my breathe away is just how far we've come in ten years, especially as a family. We are by no means perfect. I believe it is easy to think that social tools give us the illusion that people do not experience challenges. We only post the positive and for some of us the many selfies, lol! While there is nothing wrong with that I just wanted to point out that going through struggles is what makes us who we are. We typically learn the most when the tough get going. So when you see online photos through any of the social tools available to our finger tips. Just know there is always a story behind every photo. We don't see the many takes it took to get the picture we wanted, or the bribing of candy to get through that next 5 mins of attention. Most importantly, cherish those moments because in that glimpse of time that is what it truly is to be a parent, and a human. Of course the examples I gave are simple challenges with easy solutions. The same applies to the tough ones as well. Move through them like any other course of action. Some might require more time before you get that perfect "picture" you wanted (if you catch my lens, lol).


For me, the last decade has brought a good amount of change. I tend to lose track if thinking back 10 years. So, I decided to recount what items I can remember as significant for myself, and take a stroll down memory lane in Dad Garcia's thinking mechanism.


Careful, I have a wacky brain, haha!

 

2010:

  • I left a job due to a less than ideal manager

  • Life taught me a ton of lessons both individually and relationship wise

  • My first battle with a less than ideal view of myself

  • A very naive young man with little knowledge of the world

  • Palo Duro Canyon Mountain Biking, WOW!


2011:

  • A ton of soul searching

2012:

  • Re-entered the workforce, lol

  • Starting the rebuilding process of making things better both personally and relationship wise

  • Found the happy Dad Garcia again, somewhat


2013:

  • Making progress

  • Bec moved into a wonderful position with her nursing career which would catapult her to where she is today

  • Who am I?

  • The Garcias are MADE!!! WE ARE MARRIED!


2014:

  • Found an even better job and made some wonderful life long friends

  • Someone taught me about investing in me for future me

  • Just a bunch of positive good vibes all around

  • Had some nice rides that were ridiculous but you only live once, right (lesson learned)


2015:

  • Reached a milestone with CAD (computer aided drafting) with Fusion 360 thanks to a friend

  • Became increasingly interested in the future of manufacturing and additive manufacturing

  • Began contemplating a future me with an undergrad and maybe a graduate degree of some sort in this field

  • and.......

  • I became a DAD!

  • Welcome to the world Adelyn Annise

  • Rebecca is the most beautiful mother I have ever seen, glee <3


2016:

  • Learning about Dad things and loving our first daughter Adelyn

  • Time moved from slow pace to fast paced, is there a pause button

  • Began thinking about moving to the country where Rebecca grew up

  • Started learning about cloud applications and the integrations with manufacturing

  • Really excited about the future of Adelyn's life and the talents I could pass down to her

  • Just smothered with love

  • Starting putting a lot more pressure on myself to do better than just good enough

  • Sold a nice but very expensive truck I bought, bye big blue

  • Just absolutely upset with myself that I didn't understand depreciation until now


2017:

  • I became a DAD AGAIN!!!

  • Welcome to the world Brielle Bryn

  • I could be raising two future engineers, scientists, nurses, doctors, teachers or whatever, I'm so happy

  • Focused on inspiring the girls with awe in everything the world has to offer

  • Adding more pressure to myself to figure me out

  • Started a freelance CAD gig, worked with some really cool people and saw some really cool ideas

  • We MOVED to our small Family Garcia Home

  • Garrett passed to the rainbow bridge (miss you everyday pal)

  • I traveled to SCOTLAND (I just reminisced here, awe, tear)

  • Experienced a layoff (that was tough)

  • Got to spend the last couple of months in 2017 at home

  • Starting talking with a small manufacturing company before end of year

  • We had Winter Wonderland in Splendora, Texas (record snow)


2018:

  • Starting working for the small manufacturing company

  • Built my first low code app

  • The pressure in trying to be excellent and finding myself is really starting to effect things

  • Built the kids a sweet backyard playground

  • LEGOFEST 2018!!!!

  • Brielle is growing so fast!

  • How did Addie get so big?

  • Rebecca and I got to experience the President's club seating at the Astro's game (hello 1%'ers, lol)

  • I learned a lot about home improvement and up keep

  • Rebecca went back to her old job, that was tough for her

  • We bought our first CNC machine

  • Built the coolest power wheels with lights for the girls

  • We decided to buy Christmas lights for our house, and I cried because growing up, I could only dream

  • Rebecca and I found out about University of Texas at Permian Basin's Industrial Technology undergrad program for students like me who hold an Associates of Applied Science degree

  • Started my journey with my undergrad degree from UTPB


2019:

  • Started talking with a professional about my negative, dark side

  • Started to accept me for who I am, even my faults and talents

  • Starting to understand I still have time (still a struggle though)

  • Really starting to love life

  • We received our first 3D printers thanks to a donation from someone special

  • Found out we had some previous termite damage in our shop, ewwe!

  • PAWPATROL LIVE 2019!!!!

  • We experience hurricanes for which we saw flood waters too high for our liking

  • Cassie Cat adopts us

  • FLORIDA FAMILY VACATION!!!!

  • SUMMER OF BIG RIVERS WATERPARK (if you know me, you hear me saying, "Raging Waters!!!! - a la Terminator 2)

  • Built a fire pit, because fire

  • Rebecca takes me to see Phil Collins, so cool!!!

  • We bought a motor home

  • JELLYSTONE PARK trips!!!!

  • We lost Cassie Cat to the rainbow bridge :(

  • Big Guy in the Sky sends us a puppy

  • Sir Jack Scotland joins us

  • Garcia FamBam 2019 pictures are awesome

  • Loving life

  • Can we travel more?


2020:

  • Fireworks to come!

  • The rest, TBD!!!!


 

Wishing everyone single one of you a Merry Christmas, and a Happy New Year. I am grateful to each and everyone one of you for whom I know. If I don't know you, well I am grateful for you too, haha! I hope 2019 is delightful for everyone. Please be safe, smile a lot, and laugh a ton. Here's to 2020 and the start of a new decade.


- Tom


 

A Glimpse of 10 Years

By: Dad Garcia








54 views
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page